NaNoWriMo 2016

For some reason that I can’t quite explain, I’ve picked up the NaNoWriMo torch… again. I don’t know. Maybe I’ve lost my mind. I have no idea how I’m going to juggle school, work and a 50k word novel in 30 days. Some serious scheduling will be involved. My non-existent social life… will not be affected. Somehow this realization makes me wanna laugh-cry.

Be my NaNoWriMo buddy!

In any case, for those of you who don’t know—is there actually anyone out there who doesn’t know?

National Novel Writing Month is… well, say there’s this bunch of perfectly sane people. Let’s call them strange folk. Every year on the first of November, the strange folk all simultaneously lose their minds and decide to write a fifty-thousand-word novel. Not only will they write the heck out of this novel, they will do it in 30 days.

It usually starts out with nervous enthusiasm, followed by alternating bouts of tears, self-loathing, and anxiety along with a completely baseless and fleeting sense of triumph. The result of this roller coaster of emotions?

Three weeks later, some hapless passerby walks into a local Starbucks to find it over taken over by a bunch of these strange folk, each hunched over a cup of the strongest coffee and staring at his or her laptop screen like a deer staring down the barrel of a gun.

As the start of week four rolls around, sanity slaps the strange folk in their faces and each wakes up wondering WTF they’ve managed to get themselves into. Only it’s too late to stop, so they press on with a dogged kind of determination. Come December first, November slips away like a wild and frightening dream. The strange folk return to their normal lives, some completely oblivious to the fact that nothing about them will ever be “normal” again.

Well, that’s my take on NaNoWriMo in a nutshell. It’s a fun and crazy ride. I haven’t always reached my goal, to tell you the truth but no matter how many times I participate, I take something invaluable away from the experience.

My 2016 NaNoWriMo Project will be a novella. The working title is “Sea Witch Song.”

Those who might dare pick up the torch, please also note:

The Write Practice has outlined 4 Reasons NaNoWriMo Rocks plus they are offering up a NaNoWriMo Survival Kit to one lucky winner. You have until October 11th, 2016 to enter to win. Check it out!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016”

Leave a Reply

